top of page
Overseas Academics

5 Foods From Around the World


Hello Everybody! I hope you are enjoying your unplanned staycation! I also hope that you are all staying happy, healthy and safe!


There is no doubt about it: this time is filled with uncertainty and fear, but we still need to work to maintain our foundations as aspiring world travelers. I personally love to cook and find a lot of comfort in the process of making a meal for my family. I thought I could take this time to really hone in my kitchen skills with a few options that are outside my normal repertoire! Thus: I would love to share five recipes from all over the world that can help you to learn a little bit about the culture of a few of the study abroad options that are offered!


Breakfast Recipes


Shakshouka (Middle Eastern)

I am a sucker for a good egg. Shakshouka is Middle Eastern dish of poached eggs cooked in a bed of tomatoes, spices, and peppers. This dish is spicy, tangy, and mega flavorful! I like to serve it on a piece of garlic bread for even more flavor. I use this recipe from the New York Times and it never fails: https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1014721-shakshuka-with-feta

Dutch Baby (German)

This German Delight is a play on a pancake—ONLY instead of being inherently sweet, you can fill this rising cake with anything…and I mean ANYTHING! Simply delicious, a must try! I use this recipe from Food Network: https://www.food.com/recipe/dutch-baby-74146

Appetizer


Homemade Gyoza (Many Asian Countries)

Often called pot stickers, these delights consist of wonton wrappers stuffed with a flavorful blend of pork, cabbage and spices. I had a really difficult time getting the crimping technique right, but I discovered that if you use a fork to hold it while you pull, it really helps in keeping it from splitting. I used this recipe from Just One Cookbook: https://www.justonecookbook.com/gyoza/

Entrees


Gallo Pinto (Costa Rica)

This recipe consists of seasoned chicken, cilantro rice and black beans. Simply- YUM! I will be making this recipe many, MANY times. I used the recipe from YouTube sensation Andrew Rea’s cookbook, Binging With Babish, which can be purchased on Amazon.

Chicken Roulade

This recipe is a chicken, filled with cream cheese, feta and spices. I made this for my family and there were no leftovers—and that’s saying something. I used the recipe from Bon Appetit found here: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/chicken-roulade


Kommentare


bottom of page