top of page
Overseas Academics

The Pura Vida Life


For spring break in 2018, I went on a study abroad trip to Costa Rica and it was one of the best experiences of my life! Over the span of nine days, my fellow classmates and I traveled all over Costa Rica.


We got to experience the vast biodiversity offered in the country. We saw and learned about plants and animals we had never heard about before. Did you know Costa Rica is one of the most biodiverse countries in the world? Pictured above are a passion flower and coati (often compared to raccoons in the U.S.).


We went on a couple agritourism experiences and learned so much about the fruit grown in Costa Rica. The best part of these trips? The fruit tasting! At each of the farms we visited, our tour guides picked some fruit straight from the field and cut it right in front of us. It brought a new meaning to the term farm to fork. The fruit tasted better than any fruit I had ever had in my life, and I miss it so much. My diet consisted of a lot of fruit during my time in Costa Rica, because I couldn't stop eating it. It's no exaggeration when I say I ate pineapple with every meal.


Before the trip, I wasn't expecting to see such a diverse topography in Costa Rica. Although the country is relatively small in land mass, it boarders both the Atlantic and Pacific oceans, has volcanoes and a vast rainforest. Pictured above are a sunset over the Pacific ocean and the Arenal volcano.


If you love nature and outdoors, Costa Rica may be the prefect fit for you! I learned so much about the culture, lifestyle, and of course the food in just nine days. The country is absolutely beautiful and everyone was so friendly. I can't wait to go back!


–Elizabeth Jones

April 13, 2021

Comments


bottom of page